## SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE June 17, 2024

**ATTENDEES:** Olga Saubermann, Sue Aberbach (co-chairpersons), Nancy Fairchild, Linda Frigon, Maura McGuinness, Judith Slisz

LOCATION: Zoom meeting Time: 1-2pm

- 1. Minutes
  - The May 30, 2024, minutes were unanimously approved with the following corrections: under number 4: *legislators, select persons and majors.*
- **2. Update of NCCWSL conference:** Sue received the last of the three reflection papers from students. She will condense them, and they will be published in our newsletter.

## 3. Review and Selection of Educational Grant applicants

- After much discussion, six applicants out of 33 were chosen to receive our \$4,000 grant. The selection was based on financial need, goals, academic achievement and recommendations. The following students were selected:
  - --Abbey Butler
  - --Ashley Doak
  - --Uliana Makarenko
  - --Taylor Roy
  - --Ariana Seldon
  - --Hailey Tompkins

## 4. Next steps

- Sue will send both an email and letter to the grant recipients.
- Sue will email those who were not chosen for the grant.
- Sue will write a paragraph about each of the grant recipients for the Board meeting on Monday.

## 5. Lunch and presentation of the first half of the Grant

• Olga will make reservations at Penny Lane Pub for noon on July 25 to present \$2,000 to the Grant recipients.

Next meeting will be in either Sept. or Oct. with the exact date to be determined.

Respectfully submitted, Nancy Fairchild, Recording Secretary